You are here

IISc scientists get accolades at INSA

Three scientists from IISc have been conferred the prestigious Young Scientist Medal from the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) and three others have been newly inducted into the Academy, at a joyous open-to-all ceremony at the National Institute of Oceanography, Goa.

Since its inception in 1935, INSA has been handing out its accolades in closed-door ceremonies that were not open to the public. For the first time this year, INSA President Raghavendra Gadagkar (from Centre for Ecological Sciences, IISc) decided to have an open function for awardees, which resulted in a 3 hour long felicitation ceremony yesterday (21st December) morning. The event was the closing session of the 80th Annual Meeting of INSA.

The INSA Young Scientist Medal is conferred upon youngsters of exceptional promise, who are less than 35 years of age as on December 31, 2014. The medal is “considered to be the highest recognition of promise, creativity and excellence in a young scientist”, according to the INSA website. The award consists of a medal, a certificate and a cash prize of Rs. 25,000 along with a grant for them to start off their research, a “start up grant”.  

Soumya Das from IISc was awarded the Young Scientist Medal for his work in Mathematics, specifically number theory. Suryasarathi Bose has got it for his work in material development and characterization, and Santanu Mukjerjee for the development of novel methods for synthesizing organic compounds.

Three IISc scientists have been inducted into INSA: Paturu Kondiah for his work in tumour biology, Pradip Dutta for work in thermal technologies (mechanical engineering) and Srinivasan Sampath for his work on materials chemistry.

Contact details of awardees:

Young scientists

Soumya Das:,

Suryasarathi Bose:

Santanu Mukherjee:

New inductees

Paturu Kondiah:

Pradip Dutta:

Srinivasan Sampath:



New INSA members for 2015:

INSA Young Scientist Medal:

INSA Young Scientist Medal Winners, 2014:

[Please note IISc-ians at Nos. 2, 6, 19]