You are here


Two Bengaluru Based Scientists Awarded the NASI Scopous Young Scientists Awards

As a testimony to Bengaluru’s distinction as the research and innovation hub of India, two Bengaluru based scientists – Dr. Amit Singh and Dr. Jaydeb Sarkar, have won the prestigious NASI Scopus Young Scientist Award – 2016, for their work in the areas of Biological Sciences and Mathematics respectively. Dr. Amit Singh is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Microbiology and Cell Biology, Indian Institute of Science, while Dr. Jaydeb Sarkar is an Associate Professor at the Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore.

Five Young Faculty from IISc Among the 2016 INSA Young Scientist Awardees

Five faculty members at the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, have been awarded the prestigious INSA Medal for Young Scientists for the year 2016, making it the institute with more awardees than any other. Dr. Prabeer Barpanda, Dr. Sai Siva Gorthi, Dr. Praveen Kumar, Dr. Anshu Pandey and Dr. Chandan Saha are the winners of the medal from IISc, Bangalore.

IISc scientists get accolades at INSA

Three scientists from IISc have been conferred the prestigious Young Scientist Medal from the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) and three others have been newly inducted into the Academy, at a joyous open-to-all ceremony at the National Institute of Oceanography, Goa.

IISc student wins accolades in international photo competition

Sap-sucking insects by Souvik

Photographs by Souvik Mandal, a PhD student at the Indian Institute of Science, have won accolades in the BMC Ecology Image Competition 2014. His photographs of insects feeding on plants, and a pair spotted owlets sneaking out of a nesthole in a tress, have been mentioned in the 'Highly commended' category. Souvik captured both of them at the picturesque IISc campus.

IISc Professor wins DRDO Academy Excellence Award

Prime Minister Narendra Modi gave away a series of awards at the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), in the presence of Defense Minister Arun Jaitley and a host of other dignitaries. Academy Excellence Awards were presented to Professor S Mohan, a Visiting Professor at the Centre for Nanoscience at IISc and Prof Kamakoti from IIT Chennai.