Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Two IISc Professors among six awarded the Infosys Prize 2018

Read time: 3 mins

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) has announced the winners of the Infosys Prize 2018 today, 13 November 2018. Among the winners who are in Indian institutes are two Professors from the Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, and one each from the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi and the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai.

The Infosys Prize is presented annually in six categories— Engineering and Computer Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Social Sciences. The prize includes a gold medal, a citation and prize money of USD 100,000.

Professor Navakanta Bhat, Chairperson, Centre for Nano Science and Engineering at IISc has been awarded in the Engineering and Computer Sciences category. His contributions include designing novel transistors, biosensors and ultra-precise gas sensors for space and environmental monitoring. Some of his newsworthy research, which have been covered by Research Matters, can be found here and here.

Professor Kavita Singh, Dean, School of Arts & Aesthetics, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi has been awarded the prize in Humanities. Prof. Singh has made immense contributions in the study of Mughal, Rajput and Deccan art, and the historical function and role of museums.

In the Life Sciences category, Professor Roop Mallik, Department of Biological Sciences, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai has received the award. He was considered for this award for his pioneering works on molecular motor proteins, crucial for the functioning of cells. One of his works on how insulin could help us digest fats has been covered by Research Matters here.

Prof. Nalini Anantharaman, Professor and Chair of Mathematics, Institute for Advanced Study, University of Strasbourg, France, has been selected for the Prize in the Mathematical Sciences category for her work on quantum physics.

“The quantum world is one of the deepest secrets of the universe and mathematics is the language that helps us understand this world. Mathematicians and physicists have been trying for decades to unravel the mysteries of this subatomic world. Prof. Anantharaman’s work impressively explores the deep relationship between classical and quantum systems and the unexpected use of entropy to prove some of the hard results,” reads a press release by Infosys.

In the Physical Sciences category, Professor S.K. Satheesh, Centre for Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences, IISc, and Director, Divecha Centre for Climate Change has received this honour. Prof Satheesh has been selected for this award for his research work on climate change.

The Infosys Prize 2018 for Social Sciences category has been awarded to Professor Sendhil Mullainathan, University Professor, Professor of Computation and Behavioral Science, and George C. Tiao Faculty Fellow, The University of Chicago Booth School of Business for his contributions in behavioural economics. The press release from Infosys informs that Prof. Mullainathan’s research has had a substantial impact on diverse fields of development, public finance, corporate governance and policy design.

“Infosys Prize laureates have achieved prestigious milestones in their domains, and the ISF believes that this year’s winners will continue to raise the bar for science and research over the next decade. By recognizing these outstanding researchers and celebrating their achievements, the Infosys Prize aims to inspire young minds to explore science as a career option and advance innovation in the country,” reads a press release published by Infosys.